NDP CR2 2009

I was lucky enough to be invited for the Combined Rehearsal 2 by NDPeeps, 24seven and Claudia (: Heh. This is what I wore to the rehersal (conveniently forgetting that the dresscode is smart casual) –

from victors iphone(:

all set and ready to go!

It was not on purpose ok? I was late (as usual) so I just threw on whatever red top I could find and put on whatever shorts that was hanging below my mirror. But hey, at least I look NDP-ish, yes? (:

ANYWAYS! The sun and sky was absolutely gorgeous that day, thanks to the morning rain!

pretty pretty(:

pretty pretty(:

And while waiting to enter the floating platform, we could hear the usual National Day songs! That got me pretty revved up! I was humming the songs and singing to myself. Of course, as typical bloggers, we cam-whored quite a bit. It didn’t help that we were encouraged to do so! Hahaha. Shall not post the pictures here but *tada* a group shot of everyone *runs to scroll through the Flickr album of NDPeeps* –

cam-whoring(:

cam-whoring(:

And here’s our photographer (who might be joining us on subsequent photo outing. WELCOME!) –

kenneth!

kenneth!

After a short briefing session (which I didn’t pay attention to :X), we were finally seated!

mr happy snickering.

mr happy snickering.

While we waited for the parade to start, there were ads playing. I know it’s only right that the sponsors get some air time and recognition but frankly, I find the ads irritating and it would be so much more better if they were blasting National Day songs. Not just the usual ones! Those kind that we sing during National Day in primary school!

MOVING ON! I quite like how they used the screen to communicate with the audience to do the Kallang Wave and to wave to the camera! It used to be done by the hosts but I think I liked this method better! So that when the hosts are officially introduced, the OHM factor will be there(:

Waited and waited. Finally, it started! WHEE! Not going to go into much details but here are some of the things that tickled me. As it’s just the 2nd combined rehearsal, the real hosts were not that so instead, they had volunteers who read from scripts!

from left - vernetta lopez, michelle chong, gurmit, mark lee and suhaimi. LOLS!

from left - vernetta lopez, michelle chong, gurmit, mark lee and suhaimi. LOLS!

A few items came on and off and the mood at the floating platform was still pretty low. UNTIL!

the red lions!!

the red lions!!

woohoo! the RED LIONS! When they showed the Red Lions getting ready to jump, Victor and I was like, “Real meh? Or was it a past year video?”  THEN! the little red dots appear and a general chorus of “IT’S REAL!” came from the audience and BOOM! The mood was instantly lifted ! WOWEE!

<continued after a week’s break>

And then came the civil defence segment! Plenty of “vehicles” like fire truck and tanks. QQ and I spotted some ice-cream van look-alike and couldn’t think of what the function is. Perhaps, the soldiers might need ice-cream during emergencies? You know, to replenish the sugar level. HAHA. Ok, not funny. But perhaps, a commentator could explain to us what kind of vehicles are being shown now and what are their functions. Because just by showing, I won’t know anything about it! It will just be another vehicle to me!

standing in for the actual actor.

standing in for the actual actor.

favorite shot of the day (:

favorite shot of the day (:

the usua; parade.

the usua; parade.

The parade was pretty okay. It was…erm. normal marching? As usual, seeing all the uniform groups coming out made me miss the days of being a Girl Guide. The dread I feel when we have to wear our uniform, the fear that our scarf will be lopsided, standing in front of the school reciting our Guide Honors and the likes. Yeah *sigh* the good old days!

ANYWAYS! I was pretty excited to see the Guides ! However, they are seperated from Scouts by Girls + Boys Brigade and Red Cross! WHY? No big deal, I know. But quite weird. Especially since Guides and Scouts are like one family. Another thing is that when they were reading out the groups marching by the audience, they repeated the NPCC and Scouts twice. Didn’t mention Guides, GB, BB and Red Cross. An oversight by the commentator perhaps.

As the sky got dark, I couldn’t take pictures anymore 😦

But the rest of the show was very entertaining! Different from the rest of the year. This year’s show is full of songs and dances! Even if the dance sucked (which they don’t), you will be too busy singing at the top of your lungs to notice them(: I loved Chapter 5 and 6 (Or was it 6 and 7?). The remixes of the pop songs throughout the eras and the remixes of all the NDP songs(: Nice nice!

And yes! This song, “..it’s the little things that we share. the love and joy that’s in the air. the children laughter everywhere. and all our favorite things..” is still stuck in my head!

All in all, this year’s show is a definite must-watch! (: SO! STAY HOME ON NATIONAL DAY!

P/S: I sure hope they put the remixes up for downloading!

pretty(: done without a tripod! heh.

Leave a Reply

