what happened to filial piety?

I don’t know. When I was a little girl, I heard this story and it left an impression on me.

The story is about filial piety. Kind of. There’s this couple who was very mean. They threw away the straw mattress of their parents and make them sleep on the cold floors. And they only give their parents very little food. One day, they found the straw mattress they threw away in their son’s room. When asked why, the son said, “..I am getting ready for when you grow old so I can throw them away too..”

Details of the story are mixed. I remembered a pot but my dad said it was straw mattress. But yes, till today, I still remember this story and believe it’s a good story to tell the children.

We should always treat the elders with respect. No matter what they did, we should still be as nice to them as we can.

So when I came home at 12.30am last night to find the old lady in my neighbourhood sitting outside near the lift, I was shocked. Then when I found out from my mum that the old lady didn’t go home last night, I was appalled.

Apparently, this is not the first time it has happened. The old lady’s daughter-in-law has a habit of doing this. I mean, HEY! YOU! She’s mother-in-law! You already make her stay out the entire day, now you are depriving her of a place to sleep at night?

And what about the grandchildren? One is in poly, the other is Sec 4. SAY SOMETHING, GODDAMMNIT! I feel like slapping them.

I came home at 9+ today and found the old lady sitting at the coffee shop in the dark. I guess she’s locked out again 😦

What can I do? Apparently nothing. Because the parents has warned me to stay out of it. And well, if we call in the authorities, we might be making stuff worse for her.

How? 😦

I can only pray that things will get better for her. And I hope the stupid daughter-in-law will have her own ‘retribution’. We can start with constipation.

And no, I don’t care if I am being childish here. I am just so pissed now.

Leave a Reply

