Samsung Galaxy S (i9000) Press Conference (:

Okay, let’s not talk about Super Junior..YET.

Instead, let’s turn our attention to my next phone(:

Yes, I am most probably going to buy it a few months later. Just have to figure out if I want to break my plan or convince someone to start a new line for me (just fyi, I was stupid enough to renew my plan last year so my friend can get an iPhone 3GS).

Reason why I like it: Okay, before I go into the mambo-jumbo. This is the low-down. I don’t want an iPhone because it’s everywhere. PLUS! I have an iPod touch so an iPhone is like redundant. I am a mini-Samsung fan (10 years and counting). So while talking to JLee, DK and Ivy about phones, they told me that Samsung Galaxy S is the one to look out for! So TADA! My 15-minutes with it was rather pleasant (: Easy to use and the touch was great! The general feel of the phone was great too!

My favorite feature of the phone: The AMOLED screen! 4″ of AMOLED goodness. OMG. My first encounter with the AMOLED screen was on the Samsung NX10 and I didn’t have to do this when I want to look at my images –

squint squint.

Bye bye, squinting! With the AMOLED screen on the Galaxy S, the images stay bright and clear! No running into shaded areas to read a message or guessing if you’ve got the perfect photo(: I likey! I was comparing the photo display on Omny and Galaxy S and…Omny paled in comparison 😦 Saaaadd! Here’s the picture of the comparison. But you can’t really see the difference though!

Camwhores ALERT! So after playing with the Galaxy S for awhile, I went, “..I MUST CHECK OUT THE CAMERA!” and it started a frenzy among the others. All of us started flipping through the ‘pages’ to look for the camera icon. HAHAHAHAHAHA!

Victor went,”..BEAUTY SHOT BEAUTY SHOT!” and we couldn’t find it initially! But the nice promo guy there went exploring and found it for us. Sooo…THERE IS BEAUTY SHOT! Remember when I wrote my review about Samsung NX10 and I was all ga-ga-ga over that function? Think skin retouching! Think skin softening! Think no more worries about looking bad (:

What I also like about the camera is that you can choose which point to focus? Just touch the area on the screen and TADA! Done! (: I think it’s called touch-focus! Tried camwhoring with it but FAIL! I had to estimate where my face will be and touch that area so that my face will be in focus-.-

smile! (:

Totally out of focus! But hey! I think there’s an auto-focus function! Didn’t have time to fiddle with it though! Cause they were closing and security was literally chasing us out!

PLUS! There’s a self-shot mode where you can use the VGA camera in the front of the phone! Image quality not as excellent though!

bleh.

This is the ‘usual’ quality using the 5MP camera –

thanks, shuyun!

Pretty awesome considering that the lighting condition was rather bad! *thumbs up*

Many other functions available for the camera like cartoon shot, vintage shot and panorama shot! DANG! I want to try that panorama! OHOH! And it takes almost HD-quality video as the VIP from Samsung very proudly told us during the conference.

But yes, time was short! I abandoned the camera and turned to the nice promo guy to ask him what are the to-look-out-for-features! Which kind of shocked him because I think I was behaving so bimbotically with the camera that he didn’t expect me to ask so many questions. HAHAHAHA! But he tried ok? He went through the brochure with me and stayed back (which means OT) with me while his other buddies went off!

the girl @ the door.

The other stuff: Swype! What’s swype?  Here’s a small video about Swype –

Do you know that the fastest sms was typed in 35 seconds using Swype? It’s the current Guiness World Record! Takes a bit of time to get used to it though. Especially when you are typing the same alphabet one after the other. But overall, it looks and feel okay. Not a big fan but to each his/her own! I think JLee and JNg likes Swype!

Wireless Tethering! iPod touch needs internet before it can go online. So for days when I am too lazy to get out of bed to switch on my router, I like to use Omny for tethering. But the problem with Omny is that, it takes a lot of steps and a substantial amount of time before the wireless tethering thingy happen. I find it too much of a chore, really. But from what I’ve seen so far, Galaxy S can do it pretty quickly! Plus, it’s already build in? You don’t have to download any additional application for it (:

Android 2.1 Android Marketplace. WOOT!

Things I didn’t get to find out more about!

Social Hub: If you know me and know me well, you’ll know that I am almost always glued to my phone. I can be talking to you while checking Facebook, Twitter, emails and Plurk. It doesn’t really mean that I am not listening to you or that I find you boring, but it’s just a habit. A not so brilliant one at that. But yes! SOCIAL HUB! It allows me to check emails and stuff all at one point! WHEE for addicts like me 😀

MobileTV: Basically, this is watching TV on the go. If you signed up for any Galaxy plan offered by Singtel, you will get the Basic Pack that contains 4 channels – CNA, Bloomberg, ETTV Asia and Dragon TV. Sounds kind of interesting? Especially if you are bored outta your mind and your iPod Touch died on you. Happens to me alot.

Layar Reality Browsing: Not quite sure what this is. The nice promo guy was not too sure either. So I youtube-ed it!

Looks like it might be useful for people like me! Spoilt internal GPS and a general suaku-ness.

Yups! I think that’s about it from me about the phone! More or less decided that I will be getting it! So first, a job then SAVE! 😀

For those who are tempted as well, the phone is currently out-of-stock. But you can pre-order it (:

No prize for guessing what my next post is going to be about..Heheheh. SUPER JUNIOR IN SINGAPORE! WOOTS!

[Added on 01/09/2010: Tethering and Wireless]

One thought on “Samsung Galaxy S (i9000) Press Conference (:

  1. Pingback: Help me get a Samsung Galaxy S! « don't tell me not to fly. i simply got to.

Leave a Reply

