5 minutes with Canon IXUS 1000HS (:

About a month back (yes, I’ve been procrastinating), I skipped my last Korean class and attended Canon’s Blogger Event (: Because of work, I missed the first part of the event. Boohoohoo!

But I did manage to catch-up with them at Custom House where I was handed the Canon IXUS 1000HS that comes in Pink, Silver and Brown –

 

Pink for me!(:

While I think that the camera can be improved, like better F number and image quality at high ISO, I am quite pleased to see that it has 2 new features – Handheld Night Scene and Best Image Selection.  Note: I have low noise tolerance when it comes to images so the image quality at high ISO might be okay for you.

1. Handheld Night Scene

While going for the 2nd round of shoot at iLight @ Marina Bay, my colleague showed off the Handheld Night Scene mode that he had in his Sony DSLR. Needless to say, I was impressed! Because, there I was struggling to keep myself still (no tripod) so as to minimise shake while there he is, snapping away happily, no qualms about moving.

So the moment I finished dinner and ran out to shoot (at iLight@ Marina Bay again) with the Canon IXUS 1000HS, that’s the first thing I tried!

Here’s the result –

no editing done.

It was quite rather easy really. I just switched to that mode, press the shutter and VIOLA! Image captured!  (: Happy! No more taking a breath before pressing the shutter (yes, that reduces shake) or finding desperately for an edge that you can lean on to stabilized yourself!

How does it work? The camera will take a succession of shots and then combine it into one optimally exposed picture!

Nice!

2. Best Image Selection Mode

Scrolling the mode list, I found this funny icon and after selecting it, I was happy to see that it was the best selection mode (: I’m sure you have heard about it! The camera will take a few shots and choose the best shot for you. Something like that 😛

Here’s the test shot –

 

the pretty tree!(:

I did something really stupid too. I was taking a picture of Siddy (I think) then I shifted quite a bit so there was a few times when the shutter clicked and Siddy was not inside..But the final image that the camera picked was the one with Siddy in it! HAHAHAHA! Maybe it was luck or maybe it’s because the camera is smart. Hmmm. But yes, another function I like.

3. Comparing the 2 modes

And I also did some shots for comparing.

Here’s one taken with long shutter (placed it on the ledge) –

 

blurred.

It’s probably blurred because I didn’t have a remote? So when I pressed the shutter, I will have accidentally shook the camera. But look at the reflection of MBS in the water. Pretteh!

Here’s one taken with Handheld Night Scene –

 

angle slightly different.

This was taken while holding the camera. The image is slightly more stabled but the reflection was not captured. Several reasons could have caused it and I think one of it could be because the angle I took it with was slightly different.

Next, Best Image Selection –

 

same as above.

Not as good as Handheld Night Scene eh?

And here’s one taken in Auto Mode (i.e. the camera chooses the mode for you) –

 

It chose Night Scene.

If I were to rank the photos, it will be Long Shutter (blur as it is, i still like the reflection) ->Handheld -> Program -> Best Selection.

But taste CAN differ.

4. A really brief affair with G12

Towards the end of the day, Siddy very sweetly swapped his G12 with me and I got a quick feel of it!

Didn’t really have a lot of time to play with the settings. But at F8, the “stars” it produced are not too bad..

별별별!

And of course, selcas –

 

my hands shook o.O

Flippable screen FTW 😛

5. In summary

The Canon IXUS 1000HS also have all the modes that the Canon IXUS 130 has (read about my review of it here) ! You can read about the experts’ take on it @ dpreview .

The other cameras that were there that night was Canon 60D and S95. Heard quite abit about the S95 and I have send in a “request” to run around with a trial set. Hopefully it will come in time for my SS3 concert at the end of January.

Here’s to hoping! *fingers crossed*

Thank you, Ogilvy and Canon for the invite 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “5 minutes with Canon IXUS 1000HS (:

  1. My twin is so technical and very detailed with your modes. Gosh. I love like and love love our group photo together with Victor! And I like the shot of the pretty sakura looking tree too! But the picture with you I think should have smiled =x la la la

Leave a Reply

