See you later, Korean?

It’s been 2 years since I started learning Korean. It took me 23 years before I really got down to learning Korean! And it didn’t disappoint (:

I have completed 6 levels of Beginner Korean @ NUS Extension. Spent a total of $2500. Intermediate Korean Level 1 starts on Wednesday and I have yet to decide if I want to take the class.

Like I said in my previous post, I can’t converse in Korean yet. I can decipher Korean words but it will take me quite a while. I am by far…the weakest in my class. So, should I continue?

This one month break from lessons has made me realised something.

I enjoy having the time to myself again. It has somehow become a habit for my sister, my mum and I to go to the market for dinner on Wednesdays. My mood is better on Wednesdays. The nagging voice in my head constantly asking me to do my homework and practice is gone.

But at the same time, I miss Korean. Seeing the random tweet by Elaine, by Siwon and realising that, “HEY! I UNDERSTAND!” makes me don’t want to stop learning. Because look at me now. I’ve picked up a new language! Who knows how soon it will be before I can start conversing? There’s so much more room to improve.

I don’t know. Maybe I just need some time (maybe a semester) away. Take a step back. Give myself some space.

Then again, if I skip this semester, I will have to take the class alone in the future 😦 Decision decision.

I miss the culture factor in lessons. We used to play games and wear hanbok. But now, there’s no games…In their place, we have teachers sitting in.

λͺ°λΌ!Β λͺ°λΌ!Β  I guess I won’t know till Wednesday. Till then, I might be quite emo as I always am when I can’t decide about stuff πŸ˜›

2 thoughts on “See you later, Korean?

  1. I’m not sure if I can write some message here for you or not πŸ™‚
    I just found your blog through google by chance. I’m a university student at Seoul
    and a native Korean speaker.
    I think your Korean would be better than my English πŸ˜€
    These days I’m trying to study English by myself but I have no confidence at all.
    I wanted to take some English class to improve my skills though they are too expensive for me.

    if you don’t decide whether to take next Korean class, what about studying by yourself?
    You can send mentions to Koreans through twitter, you can watch a lot of Korean dramas using many kinds of medias! πŸ™‚
    You know, when people think something is what they have to do,
    they start to be stressed out. Most important thing is enjoying it!
    Cheer up! I don’t want you to give up. I just want you to enjoy learning Korean.

    Well. I think this is what I want to say to me. Haha.
    Studying English is so stressful for me even though I love to learn it!!!!!
    If you didn’t want that strangers leave a reply on your blog, I’m so sorry (T_T)
    And thanks for reading my broken Englsih πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Euvin!

      Thank you for the encouragement! (: Your comment has brighten my day and made me more determined to keep learning Korean!

      I’ve decided to take a break from lessons for awhile and study by myself (:

      And, your English is fantastic! Did you study English by yourself? Maybe we can learn from each other..γ…‹γ…‹γ…‹

      Once again, κ°μ‚¬ν•©λ‹ˆλ‹€! Thank you for the comment! It gave me determination! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

