October: the month of causes (:

October is the month of giving! To charity (: So many of them! Do your part if you can.

1. Breast Cancer Awareness Month 

This is not just for the ladies. Men can also know/support the Breast Cancer Foundation cos it can happen to anyone. Usually, there’s not much going on (or maybe I didn’t notice it) other than the usual pink ribbons but this year, there’s about 2 initiatives (if there’s more do let me know).

Operation Pink

This is organised by the Parkway Pantai group of hospitals and they try to tap on the popularity of social media platforms like Instagram and the #hashtags. Yes, #hashtags.

For every photo and post on Twitter or Instagram tagged with #operationpink, 50cents will be donated to  the Breast Cancer Foundation (: It’s simple and easy! Of course, let’s not abuse it by using the hashtag on photos of food and etc -.- Let’s be sensitive and adults here ok?

Donations are capped at $10,000. That means they will need about 20,000 photos and tweets. Right now, they only have 1,367post ($683.50)! Quite far from their target!

I’m going to make my Instagram account public for this month so that my photos can be counted (:

More info @ http://operationpink.sg/

Pazzion 

Pazzion is raising awareness for breast cancer this month in their stores!

For every pair of Pink Ballerina Flats sold, they will donate 50% of the proceeds to the Breast Cancer Foundation! (:

The flats is made of lambskin (super duper comfy!) and cost about $69. So, you are buying a pair of flats @ $34.50 and donating $34.50 to the Breast Cancer Foundation! Sounds good right? (:

I should be popping by the Pazzion shop @ Junction 8 tomorrow to check it out! You should too (:

More info @ http://www.pazzion.com

2. Make-A-Wish Foundation 

October is also Make-A-Wish Foundation’s Wish Dish month. What’s Wish Dish? Well, for every WISH Dish ordered at participating restaurants, 50% of the proceeds will be donated to the foundation. Some of the participating restaurants are TWG Tea Salon & Boutique and Rasapura (atas food court @ MBS)!

Just saw on the Facebook page that Fullerton is donating 100% of the proceeds from every Town Laksa sold!

So if you are a foodie or if you are near the restaurants/food places, do try and support the cause. Make-A-Wish Foundation is one of the charity I support. They grant wishes of children with life-threatening medical conditions. Really meaningful (:

You can find out more about the foundation and WISH Dish @ https://www.fb.com/MakeAWishFoundationSingapore

3. Kicking Start Early

This is a personal thing. Last year, I told the wonderful ladies (Sivan, Mabel and San) to donate to Make-A-Wish Foundation instead of getting me a present for my birthday.

My birthday is still 2 months and 6 days away. But I thought I will start early this year and maybe gain more donations for the charity I am supporting this year ;p

This year, I would like to donate to the Singapore Children’s Society. After watching the stories on the charity show this year, I was deeply touched by their cause and efforts. I am not someone who cries when I watch TV but the stories really made me teared. All kids should have a happy childhood. Free of fear and full of oppurtunities to explore what they want and how they want to.

I love kids. So, I thought this year, I’ll support them (:

Will start something on give.sg soon. Then maybe I can start shamelessly asking people to give me my birthday present ;p

So yup! Do try to take part in the activities (at least no. 1 and 2 above) if you can!

On the side, I think I need to go look for places where I can volunteer to give free tuition to lower income kids for next year!

Leave a Reply

