Mortal Instruments Chronicles

After the popularity of the Hunger Games, out came a series of spin-off. Some was okay but most were bad. That kinda instilled a bit of weariness when choosing books to read. So when I saw the Mortal Instruments on the shelves of Popular, I didn’t pick it up. It was went I ran out of books to read (true story), that I reluctantly started on the series. And…

I’M HOOKED!

I love the interaction between the main characters. So sarcastic and witty ;p Plus, just when you think things are getting boring (which you will after Book 2), a mega twist appears. And you’re like, “WOAH!” (I know a twist is coming and I am reading the book super slowly cos I am dreading but anticipating it at the same time).

And and and….the heroine! HAHAHA! Just when you get tired of the way she’s behaving like a brat, the other characters will point it out and then POOF! Her character gets better 😀 Much much better than the other heroine in the Divergent series. She’s so wishy-washy. Sometimes, you just want to shake her and ask her to…WAKE UP YOUR IDEA! (for a lack of better ways to put it)

ANYWAYS! I spent quite alot of my teenage days reading stories on Quizilla and sometimes, I wonder if some of these books are written by them. Cos some of the storyline feels kind of familiar (: Ahwell.

Ending with some of my favorite dialogues from the first 2 books and half of Book 3 (all credits to Cassanadra Clare) (:

“Usually, I’m remarkably good-natured. Try me on any day that doesn’t end in y.”

“That does it, “said Jace. “I’m going to get you a dictionary for Christmas this year.”
“Why?” Isabelle said.
“So you can look up ‘fun’. I’m not sure you know what it means.”

A man doesn’t have to agree with his government to be a patriot, does he?

“Most people don’t cry when they’re upset or frightened, but rather when they’re frustrated…”

“Actually he offered to wake you up himself, but since it’s 5am, I figured you’d be less cranky if you had something nice to look at.”
“Meaning you?”
“What else?”

“This is bad,” said Jace.
“You said that before.”
“It seemed worth repeating.”

“…This is one incident I will not allow you to shrug off!”
“I wasn’t planning to,”Jace said. “I can’t shrug anything off. My shoulder’s disclosed.”

“Why? Does it hurt?” Clary asked.
“No. I have a high pain threshold. In fact, it’s less of a threshold and more of a large and tastefully decorated foyer. But I do get easily bored.”

“People aren’t born good or bad. Maybe they’re born with tendencies either way, but it’s the way you live your life that matters. And the people you know…”

“Have you tried talking to her?” (Simon was asking the obvious)
“No,” Jace said, “we’ve been punching her repeatedly in the face instead. Why, do you think that won’t work?”

BACK TO THE BOOK!

Leave a Reply

