[Music Monday] Girls’ Generation – Animal

Because we all need a earworm to kickstart the week! Plus, Monday is the only day in the week that starts with M. I’ll try to post non-Kpop songs occasionally :P

I’m generally not a fan of Japanese songs by K-Pop artists. Not Super Junior, not SHINee and not Girls’ Generation. I did learn the dance for some of Girls’ Generation’s Japanese songs (Paparazzi and Galaxy Supernova) though.

Because I don’t follow the girls’ releases in Japanese, I was quite lost during their concert last month. The concert is basically a replica of their tour in Japan but with a tiny bit more of their Korean songs. It was still an awesome concert though!

Anyways! This song got stuck in my head after the concert so I thought I’ll share it (: The dance caught my attention too. Quite ‘fierce’ and just that tiny bit of decadence (?). Don’t mind learning it! I’m quite hooked on this song. Even my ringtone has been changed! Hehe.

The thing I realised about Girls’ Generation’s Japanese songs is that chasing after boys seems to be the main focus. Like Galaxy Supernova, Bad Girl and now, Animal. Quite different from their previous/Korean songs.

I also realised that there’s more variation in the vocals for the Japanese songs. You see girls like Hyoyeon and Sunny having more parts to sing. But at the same time, they can disappear totally in certain songs. The exposure is not as equal as in their Korean promotion I guess.

So yups! That’s all from me this week (:

Leave a Reply

