here we go, at last.

The night before I fly off to Seoul for 10 weeks. Something that I have been going on and on about for about a year.

When I left Maybank back in June last year, I was burnt out and I was still young. Still holding on to the hope of looking for the perfect workplace. I didn’t know what I wanted to do, I had no plans (other than to finish my CFP Module 4). It was after a haircut (where I chopped off my hair) that I decided I want to head to Korea. I broke it to the family during Father’s Day Dinner @ Chef Wan. I wanted to head to Sogang in Sept 2013. The mum was supportive, but the dad was skeptical as usual. But things changed when I told my Korean class my plans. Rebecca had the same plan and so that’s when I decided to postpone the plan for a year. More time for my dad to warm up to the idea, more time for me to plan.

Between then and now, I think I’ve grew up quite a bit. I have so many people that I want to thank.

I learned that there’s no workplace without politics (like finally!). But you can learn to cope with it. I don’t know how I did it. But I made it through 9 months in that place. Maybe because I’ve grown up or because of the “lingering protection” from my bosses. But I did it 🙂

Now for my list of thank you-s….

Esther:  Thank you for asking me to stay when I wanted so badly to leave in that 1st month! For the lunch treats and for always being honest with me (:

ZQ: Thank you for meeting for lunch every day for the first 4-5 months! Vegetarian everyday then Bee Hoon everyday! It really helps to have someone to keep me in check. For the record, I haven’t had Macs ice-cream cone since that treat from you ;p

Jun Ying: Couldn’t have made it through without you! Going to miss having you sitting next to me (:

Janelle/Jerrick: For the occasional lunches. Always nice to see someone familiar during work!

ber: For treating me to dinner whenever we meet this year! For motivating me when I wanted to give up.

Jie En: For the treat and the “truckload” of chocolates (that helped me stay sane in times of emergency).

And the list goes on…

I am really tired. Really stress about my luggage. I can’t decide if I want to do a backpack or a carry on luggage yet.  I’m not sure if I will be able to keep my depigmentation cream into the fridge on the flight. My pimples. So many things.

If you know me, you know I always have seperation anxiety before I travel. Be it for a day or more. I’m not worried about myself but about my parents. Even right now, I am leaning towards not going. Reluctant to let go of my room, my routines, my comfort zone (where I can flare up as and when).

But, go I will. It’s something I need to check off my bucket list.

I’m going to go now. The next time I blog, I will probably be in Korea (:

Leave a Reply

