thoughts so far…

About 5 days into my 10 weeks stay in Korea. School just started officially (got placed in Level 2).

Loads of thoughts though –

  • When you say you are from Singapore, people still draw a blank. They don’t quite know where it is and whether to speak to you in English or Mandarin.
  • I am glad that I am bilingual.
  • Korea has impossible slopes. It’s impossible to climb and when you take a car, you feel like you are on a rollercoaster. I think my sister’s (ex)Picanto might have some serious problems here.
  • I miss Singapore’s inter-loop buses very much. Having a bus that stops right at your bus stop is…a luxury.
  • I am independent. But I prefer to have my family with me. Being independent on my own is just different.
  • Pedestrian paths….I miss our flat, smooth and walkable/luggage roller friendly paths.
  • Ultimately, I realised how lucky I am to be born in Singapore.

Don’t get me wrong. I still love Korea. But living here and visiting is totally different. Whenever someone ask (more like tell) me to just migrate to Korea, my reply/stand has always been, “I don’t want to. It’s different if you live there. You never quite know if a place is really awesome or if it’s awesome becos you are away from stress/mundane stuff (on holiday). Korea is a nice place to visit and de-stress but living there? Nope, I don’t think I can.”

This round, I need to think of food, grocery, room furnishing, lifestyle needs etc etc It’s just too….mafan. And I have to walk for about 10-15 minutes before I reach any decent street. A good 30 minutes before I reach any train station.

Okay, before this becomes a rant, I will end here. My eyes are shutting too. I miss you, Singapore!

Leave a Reply

