The Return of Superman | 슈퍼맨이 돌아왔다

Original Cast Shot. Source: forums.soompi.com

Original Cast Shot. Source: forums.soompi.com

If you know me, it can take me up to a year (or two) to finish a drama or variety show. But this variety show has got me so hooked that I finished 34 episodes in 2 weeks. That’s pretty amazing!

About the show

Basically celebrity dads are left to care for their kids alone (without the mummies) for 48 hours. Sometimes, the mummies will leave missions for the dads (they usually don’t). Celebrities like SNSD (yay!) will occasionally drop in for a visit.

They are supposed to be friends of the dads but sometimes, it feels like they just want to boost the viewership ;p But that’s just me.

What got me watching

Kim has been showing me clips of Haru (one of the kids) and G-Dragon but even then, I sat on it. I shelved it as another rip-off of 아빠,어디가? But when I saw 2 clips of the twins and saw how much they have grown in 3 months, I decided that I should really give this show a shot.

For me, watching kids grow and their ability to absorb/learn things quickly is amazing! I remembered sticking out my tongue at my ex-boss’ son and he learned it immediately. Won’t stop doing it. It was so cute! 😀

The kids – I love them

I love the twins, Seo-eon and Seo-jun, because their dad is funny and they are babies! The show started when they are about 7 months old so you can really track their growth. I squealed in delight when they stand up on their own for the first time (: Plus, sibling rivalry really starts early ;p

I like Haru too (: She’s a really sweet little girl. When her parents were sick, she was so worried and told her dad, “Family is really beautiful. Family members are really beautiful people. That’s why beautiful people love their family: *melts* When they visited her grandpa’s grave, she shouted, “Grandpa, I miss you!” and that got me tearing (cos that made me miss my gramps). There was once she saw the twins’ father having a hard time with the twins so she brought water to him and asked him to rest *melts*

There’s also Junu and Junseo. I skipped their segment in the first few episodes cos it was kinda boring. But the boys are really obedient and sweet. I grew to love them. I love the “drinking session” with their dad at nights. Next time, when I have kids, I am going to make my hubs do this kind of things with our kids. Hahaha.

해피선데이.E474.슈퍼맨이 돌아왔다_12.140119.HDTV.XViD-HANrel.avi_004748214

one of their drinks session.

With Junu and Junseo leaving the show, a new set of triplets have joined the cast! (: I just watched their first episode. Can I just say I identify with Minguk (the 2nd kid) sooooo much? Middle child syndrome! Poor kid. He’s only 3! Can’t wait to watch them grow too!

Other stuff

I really learned alot from the kids. Sometimes realising how jaded I’ve become, sometimes remembering the little joys I used to love etc

Plus, seeing the interaction between the mummies and dads is kind of comforting? I don’t quite know how to put it. Maybe they make me feel that when love becomes a habit, it’s not that bad a thing?

Ever since coming back from my 10 weeks adventures in Korea, something changed in me in a good way. But that’s another story for another time ;p

Anyways, when I was recommending this show to my friend, he said, “So, now you want to get married and have your own kids?”  NO WAY! No marriage. No kids. Yet. Dating, ok (yes, this is new to you right?). Marriage, no. Kids, no.

ANYHOOS! If you have time, do check out this series (: Just type in the show title in youtube. The channel, KBS, have uploaded the entire series (with English subtitles!) there. WOOTS!

Leave a Reply

