In memory of Mr Lee Kuan Yew

20150327_200350

my first memory of Mr LKY.

Dear Mr Lee,

My very first memory of you was seeing you in Parliament on Ch8’s news. You were always in a white shirt with either a blue or black jacket. I was too young then to know who you are, that you were debating about things that helped me become who I am today.

I just want to say, “Thank you”. Thank you for doing what is right, what is needed and not what is popular. Thank you for your undying sense of responsibility towards us. Thank you for bringing together us together.

One of the things I always find hard to explain to friends from other countries was our unique blend of culture. After all, we are a country made up of immigrants. “Singapore? What’s your race? Chinese? Then are you from China? Is that friend from India?” Common questions that they ask. They don’t know we have all called Singapore home, that we have accepted each other’s differences and bonded. To quote something I heard on TV, “I always introduce myself as Singaporean. Not an Indian or a Singapore Indian. I’m just a Singaporean.”

Most importantly, Mr Lee, thank you for giving me a place I can call home, a place where I don’t have to worry about when my next meal will be, a place where I can fret over frivolous stuff, a place where I can actually decide between chasing my passion or earning money (versus survival or starve).

I’m not good at saying goodbyes. I’ll miss looking out for you during NDP. Sometimes, I feel lost when I think that you are not here anymore. To quote PM Lee, “..when he’s there, you know you will be alright, that everything will be okay, you will get through it.” I wish I had paid more attention to watch those Parliament highlights as a kid.

Thank you.

Cheers,
Huishan

– this thought came into my mind when I was watching the news about India mourning for LKY-

Our forefathers came expecting to find a pot of gold. there wasn’t. today, LKY created that pot of gold, so that we can have it, so that we can return to it, so that others can too.

– great eulogy from Cassandra Chew-

“We don’t have everything, but we have more than most, because of your lifelong labour. On behalf of young Singaporeans everywhere, I’d like to say: thank you.”

Leave a Reply

