Devotion 19/04/2015

I have been reading Our Daily Bread and using “The Holy Bible” application (highly recommended) to starts plans. I particularly like Rick Warren’s because they are not overly preachy and helps to relate to daily life.

ANYWAYS! Sometimes, I find meaning words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

The past week hasn’t been too fabulous. Broke down on Monday because of an accumulation of things. My dad triggered the episode. No, he is still not apologetic so we aren’t really talking i.e. I will only reply him with whatever that’s necessary. Nothing extra. With that said, I think I am becoming one of them. It’s scary. I don’t want to become one of those selfish people who calculates the effort they put in by the amount of credit they can get. While I am not exactly calculating the credit, but I have also stopped ‘going to the extra mile’. Or rather, subconsciously doing that. Not good.

I’m tired. I won’t lie. But I am thankful for little things like the staff of Fun Toast making my day every morning. For being able to take the direct bus to and from work. For having friends like Jie En and Esther to talk to and to prod me up when I am crumbling (:

These are some verses that Jie En and I shared with each other the past week –

Lord, I admit that I take things into my own hands and worry. That weighs my spirit down and sometimes robs my nights of rest. Lift the heaviness from my heart as I lean into You.

I will never think of anything that [God, my Father] will forget. So why should I worry? -Oswald Chambers

ODB, 14 April

Again truly I tell you that if two of you on earth agrees about anything they ask for, it will be done for them by the Father in heaven.

Lord, forgive us for the many times that we rely on our short-lived strength. Help us see that all good gifts come from You, and that You are the never-failing source of our strength, hope and joy. – Matthew 18:19

When we draw near to God, our minds are refreshed and our strength is renewed. 

Continue to ask for wisdom, strenght and perseverance to get through the week.

Two more weeks before SS6 and Backstreet Boys! 😀 Happy Sabbath!

Leave a Reply

