Devotion 16/08/2015

I have been reading Our Daily Bread and using “The Holy Bible” application (highly recommended) to starts plans. I particularly like Rick Warren’s because they are not overly preachy and helps to relate to daily life.

ANYWAYS! Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

And so another chapter has closed (: I thought my departure will be a quiet one but I have people that I’ve not worked with, coming to me and saying bye. Of course, there’s the ladies (and Kelvin, Edwin). Hee. My own team in HK and UK? Nothing. Speaks volume. Nonetheless, I’ll miss everyone!

3 weeks break before the start of another chapter. A chapter that I’ve waited for a long time, a chapter where everyone is sure I will do well in, a chapter that everyone says suits me (: 3 weeks of me time! I am planning for a consecutive week of not going out, 1 day of museum visit and the last week where I have to go for my check-up. HIBERNATION MODE: ON!

Thank you for holding my hands and delivering me through this choppy short chapter. Amen.

Lord Jesus, You are the one constant in this chaotic world. Thank You for being the one true light that the darkness can never extinguish. – ODB, 14 August 2015

I’m grateful, Lord, that You are at work in me. I want You to change my heart; please help me to listen and to cooperate with You. – ODB, 13 August 2015

The Lord’s eyes are on the righteous and his ears are open to their prayers. But the Lord cannot tolerate those who do evil. Who will harm you if you are zealous for good? – 1 Peter 3:12-13

Put aside all bitterness, losing your temper, anger, shouting and slander, along with every other evil. Be kind, compassionate, and forgiving to each other, in the same way God forgave you in Christ. – Ephesians 4:31-32

True faith responds to the needs of others. May our hearts be moved from inaction to action, from words alone to deeds that back them up. O Lord, it is so easy to be overwhelmed, or to judge and therefore to refrain from others. Lift our eyes above our own thoughts and circumstances, and let us care as You care. – ODB, 10 August 2015

God can create roads where we only see obstacles. When the way ahead of us seems uncertain, it’s good to remember what God has done in the past. He specializes in pathways in any circumstance – pathways that point us to His love and power. Thank you, God, for the miraculous ways You have worked in the past. Help me to remember Your power and faithfulness when I can see only trouble and difficulty. – ODB, 9 August 2014

Whatever you do, do it from the heart for the Lord and not for the people. – Colossians 3:23

Leave a Reply

