Devotion 15/11/2015

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

This week just zoomed passed. Luckily for the PH on Tuesday. It made having to work on a Saturday felt normal (and tolerable). Next week seems to be madness. Suspended timetable (yayy! more time with my kids) and loads of meeting after school. And with only one day of ‘rest’ (barely cos I need to work out my finances, clean my room and be the parents’ secretary), I hope I can pull through. Please give me loads of energy, Lord.

Oh yeah. Something traumatising happened on Monday – P5 students were defiant and rude. For the first time, I actually felt scared and threatened. It’s all resolved now (I hope so). But like what Mdm N said, next time never approach them when they are in a group – power in numbers. Lesson learnt. In other news, my kids are as cute as ever. I got a red pen, my quiet kids started talking to me, my 3 musketeers are showing me their drawings and 3 girls drew me a card, threw it on the table and run away *melts* I’ll miss my class.

Colleagues are really nice too. Talking to them really helps to bring my understanding and experience to another level. Thank you to the colleagues and to God (:

Here’s to a fruitful and grace-filled week ahead! AMEN!

God, I know that life won’t always go the way I want it to, but I trust in You. By faith, I receive Your grace, the power You have freely given to help me walk through any situation I face today. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Because of the grace that God gave me, I can say to each one of you: don’t think of yourself more highly than you ought to think. Instead, be reasonable since God has measured out a portion to each one of you. – Romans 12:3

Father, help me to seek Your light to guide me through the storms of life. – ODB, 9 November 2015

Lord, we tend to react defensively when people shun us or attack us for our faith. Give us Your courage to offer wise and gentle response when we are mistreated. – ODB, 10 November 2015

Dear Father, I want to have an intimate relationship with You. I invite You to be part of my entire day – from the time I awake until I go to sleep. Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. Isaiah 40:31 – ODB, 11 November 2015

God, I believe that You are at work in my life, even during difficult times. I choose today to remain steadgast and to never give up in obedience to You. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

By Your grace, Lord, help me to live peaceably with others. And help me to recognize when I’m the difficult person in other people’s lives and need Your intervention. Give me the will and desire to change. Peace can come if we respond with a gentle answer. – 12 November 2015

God’s commands can overpower Satan’s suggestions. – 13 November 2015

…God doesn’t want us living on the edge, because if we’re living on the edge, then we have no margin for error…When we have boundaries, borders and margins, we feel much better and experience God’s peace. The key is to go to God’s Word, where He has laid out all the boundaries we need to live by. Let God direct your path every day. God, I recognise the need for boundaries in my life. As I read Your Word, show me how to apply Your healthy boundaries in my life today. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Lord, show me the unsustainable area of my life. I submit them to You. Lead me into Your rest and peace today, so I can enjoy my life and serve You for years to come. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

God, sometimes it’s hard for me to slow down and say no more responsibility. Help me to live with the balance of responsibility You created for me, so I can live with Your peace and enjoy life. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Lord Jesus, we know that You can speak the words of eternal life and healing to people in great need. We bring them to You in prayer today. Praying for others is a privilege – and a responsibility. – ODB, 8 November 2015

Amen.

Leave a Reply

