Devotion 20/12/2015

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

The 3rd week of break is gone just like that. One more week to go before I have to go back to work. Yes, there’s 2 more weeks of December holidays but teachers have to go back slightly earlier. Heh.

Haven’t been sleeping well these days. Mostly jittery sleep. Don’t quite know how to explain them but yeah. One more week to go. I’ll have awesome sleep! Time to tune my body clock back to normal working hours too.

Ventured out on Thursday for nails and facial. Hooray to packages. No need to pay ;p But I think the facial lady used to high a voltage during the ‘disinfection’ phase cos my skin is super dry now. Not to mention how swollen my eyes were the day after facial – I must be allergic to something. Will obediently apply moisturizer and hopefully the skin will return back to normal.

ANYWAYS! One more week to go! More rest, more reflection, more thankful thoughts! Let this week be grace-filled and peace-filled too. Amen!

What gift would you ask for and what would you offer (to God)? The Bible gives us lots of ideas. God promises to supply all our needs, so  we might ask for a new job, help with financial problems, physical healing for ourselves or others, or a restored relationship. Or we might long to be more loving, joyful, peaceful, patient, kind and good, faithful, gentle and self-controlled (Gal 5:22-23).

The most important gift we can ever receive is God’s gift of His Son, our Savior, and with Him forgiveness and restoration. And the most important gift we can ever give is to give Jesus our heart. – Marion Stroud

Many times we don’t get to select the work we do. But all of us can choose our attitude toward the tasks we’re given. How we do the God gives us is the measure of our service to Him. Father in Heaven, our work in life often causes us to wonder if we are accomplishing anything worthwhile. Give us eyes to see the importance of the tasks You have given us so that we may honor You by the way we do them. Humble work becomes holy work when it’s done for God. – ODB, 15 December 2015

God, I thank You that even though You see my mistakes, You still love me and help me live a godly life. While I refuse to be discouraged by my failures, I also refuse to stay the same. I choose to follow You and imitate You more and more each day. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Heavenly Father, help me to glorify Your name and to honor You always in what I do and say. – ODB, 16 December 2015

God, thank You so much for loving me and for approving of me. Thank You for smiling over me. Your love has changed my life and I know that it will only continue to do so as I grow in You. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Lord, You promised never to leave us or forsake us. We know Your word is true, but so often we see the obstacles and challenges and lose sight of You. Help us today to see more of You and less of our problems. – ODB, 18 December 2015

We need to practice positive thoughts in every situation. If you’re going through a difficult time, expect that God will work things out for your good. God, I admit that I struggle with negative thoughts and I need Your help. Line my thoughts up with Your Word. In every situation, remind me that You will work things out for my good. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Being positive is powerful. And a big part of being positive is simply reminding yourself of your past successes. If you’re going through a difficult time right now, let me remind you that this is probably isn’t the first challenge you’ve faced. You survived the last one (and probably learned some valuable lessons through it) and you will survive this one too. Better days are on their way. God promises it! God, sometimes the situation in front of me seems impossible, but You have brought me through difficult times in the past, and I know You can and will do it again. Help me to remember past successes and to think positively about my present situation. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. – Matthew 11:28

Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you. – Hebrews 13:5

Amen.

Leave a Reply

