Devotion 3/1/2016

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

Can’t believe it’s 2016 already! Time really do zoom pass after you turn 21 and 25. They say it goes even faster when you hit 30. Guess I’ll find out in 2 years time.

School starts on Monday.  I have a form class afterall (: I am going to miss my kids from last year. Hopefully they still remember me and won’t run away when they see me XD My brain is all jumbled up with what to do with the class on Day 1 because it’s important to set the tone right. Guess I won’t be sleeping early today. So much to do (including paying bills).

I pray for wisdom, strength and power to get through the coming week and to do God’s will through my actions and words. Dear God, please shower me with your favor and grace this coming week. Amen!

But, following ‘Christian’ rules and going to church won’t make you a Christian any more than sitting in a garage will make you a car. Religious rules and regulations can be harsh, hard and pressing, but that’s not what Jesus wants for people. Jesus wants people to live in relationship with Him. God, it’s easy to fall into the trap of thinking that someone needs to follow a list of rules to really be a Christian, but that’s not the kind of faith You want from people. Empower me to share Your Gospel with others in a way that leads them not into a religious system, but into a one-on-one, life-changing relationship with You. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

If I have the gift of prophecy and I know all the mysteries and everything else, and if I have such complete faith that I can move mountains but I don’t have love, I’m nothing. – 1 Corinthians 13:2

Lord, it’s amazing to me that You – the God who created the universe – care about me and want me to come to You in prayer. Thank You for loving me so much. We always have God’s attention. – ODB, 2 January 2016

Lord, I realize that doing good work is no replacement for truly knowing You. Help me to find rest in You as I lay useless activity aside to spend more time with You. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

God, I don’t want to live life like a tourist without a guide, aimlessly going my own way. Only You can show me what to do and how to live, so I choose to follow Your guidance every day. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Father, I put my longings and burdens on You because I know You care for me and can work powerfully. Thank You that I and my loved ones are in Your care. – ODB, 31 December 2015

Lord, when tested, I want to be ready, holding up under pressure, following You no matter what. Show me daily how to put my trust in You, even when I struggle with unanswered questions. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Father in Heaven, this life can be wonderful, but it can also be hard. Thank You for Your Spirit’s presence with us now. And thank You for the reality of eternal life with You. When you’re weary in life’s struggles, find your rest in the Lord. – ODB, 30 December 2015

Bless people who harass you – bless and don’t curse them. – Romans 12:14

When you forgive, it opens a door for God to heal you, but honestly, it doesn’t do much for the person who offended you. But when you bless them, you ask God to bring truth to them so they can repent and experience the real freedom He provides. Forgiveness sets you free, blessing your enemies sets them free. God, I thank You for helping me walk in forgiveness, but I don’t want to stop there. I ask You to bless those who have hurt me. In the same way that You have brought healing to my life, bring healing to them so they can experience Your goodness and walk in Your love. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Father, there are great needs all around us. We choose not to give in to despair or apathy, but look to You for help in doing the task at hand. Those who walk with God won’t run from the needs of others. – ODB, 29 December 2015

..the greatest deception in the area of forgiveness is the idea that if our feelings have not changed, we have no truly forgiven. You can make the right decision to forgive and not “feel” any differently. That’s when faith steps in. God will do His part and heal your emotions, make you whole, and change your feelings towards the person who hurt you. Lord, I choose to forgive those who have hurt me. I release them from their debt, in Jesus’ name. Heal my heart and make me whole. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Dear God, I am frail and defenseless, but You are mighty and powerful. Please help me find peace and rest in You when I am overwhelmed. God is our refuge. – ODB, 28 December 2015

Lord, because I know that you are in control and work all things for good, I can be flexible when life doesn’t follow my plan. When my plans don’t work out, help me to find the good and stay positive. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Thank You for forgiving us and for turning our filthiness into the beauty of forgiveness. Help us to display the beauty of our forgiveness to all we encounter. When Christ forgives us, our hearts are as clean as new-fallen snow. – ODB, 27 December 2015

Don’t fear, because I am with you;
don’t be afraid, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you,
I will surely help you,
I will hold you with my righteous strong hand. – Isaiah 41:10

Amen.

Leave a Reply

