Devotion 17/1/2016

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

Phew. Done with Week 2. Foreseeing that this madness will continue to Week 4 at least. I have 2 papers to set before the end of the term *grimace* But hey, I made it through this week – my first crazy Wednesday (10 periods + 2 meetings), workshop and Parents’ Briefing. Thankful for the people who helped me, who listened to me and my kids from last year who made me smile. Thankful to God for pushing me through (:

Have to figure out how to set a paper and actually set it this week. Wish me luck! I’m planning to prepare all my lessons for this week on Monday then devote the rest of the week to setting the paper. Hopefully it works out! And also, CCA is starting. Scouts. Hmm. HAHAHA.

Anyhoos! I’ll make it through because I will (: Praying for loads of wisdom, strength and power this coming week. Also, hoping that I can continue to do His will. Amen (:

Lord, don’t let me forget who my real enemy is, and don’t let me forget You are all-powerful. I know I can’t handle everything the enemy throws my way, but You can. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Lord, I want to grow, so help me to go deeper into Your Word. Teach me more every day, so that I am better equipped to serve and worship You. – ODB, 16 January 2016

You may have had a miserable past that continues to affect your present in negative and depressing ways. But I say to you boldly, your future is not determined by your past or present! Let God break off the chains of your past. God, I believe that You are more powerful than my past. I receive the freedom You give me. My past will not determine my future. –  Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

I know the plans that I have in mind for you, declares the Lord; they are plans for peace, not disaster, to give you a future filled with hope. – Jeremiah 29:11

Everyone desires to be loved and accepted. But many of us try to find happiness in the wrong way. We attempt to find it in getting, but it is found in giving. The love of God is the most wonderful gift we are given. Lord, I don’t want Your love to become stagnant in me. Help me to not only receive Your love, but to complete the process by choosing to love others lavishly. –  Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

When our circumstances are harsh and sorrows outnumber joys, Jesus shouts to us, “Hold everything you’ve got! Help is on the way!” And with that promise, we can hold on in faith and peace. Lord, we cling to Your promise, expect Your return, and hold on with confidence as we say, “Even so, come, Lord Jesus!”. – ODB, 12 January 2016

Create a clean heart for me, God; put a new faithful spirit deep inside me. – Pslams 51:10

Contentment is a decision to be happy with what you already have. Unfortunately, we usually learn to be content by living discontented lives for a long time and then finally saying, “Lord, I don’t want to live this way any longer.” But it doesn’t have to be this way. You can choose to be content every day. This is worth more than all the material possessions you could possibly accumulate in a lifetime. Lord, I only want what You for me. Like the apostle Paul, I choose to be content in every circumstance. –  Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Perhaps you feel tarnished, worn, old or out of circulation. Even so, God finds value in you. The Creator of the universe wants you – not for your mind, your body, your clothes, your achievements, your intellect, or your personality, but because you are you! He would go any distance and pay any price to possess you (1 Cor. 6:20). As I think about Your love for me, Father, I wonder with amazement how You could love someone like me – and I praise You. – ODB, 11 January 2016

Your way of life should be free from the love of money, and you should be content with what you have. After all, he has said, “I will never leave you or abandon you.” – Hebrews 13:5

Father, thank You for being a rock to which we can flee and no matter where we are or in what circumstances we find ourselves, You are there with us. Help us to remember that even in the darkest of nights, You are our strong tower. Nothing can shake those who are secure in God’s hands. – ODB, 10 January 2016

Whatever your emotinal needs are today, know that only God can meet them. He is the only lasting source of life. Go to Him today, He’s the only One who can satisfy. God, I don’t want to waste my time chasing cheap substitutes. You are the only One who can satisfy. Show me how to daily find my true delight and satisfaction in You and only You. –  Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

“You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance” (32:7). Ezekiel 11:16

Amen!

Leave a Reply

