Devotion 31/1/2016

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

After the craziness that was the 3rd week, 4th week seems a little less…crazy. I still leave school when the bell rings but I stayed back to create lesson plans and clear marking backlogs. I even had time to pop by Starbucks on Thursday for a cup of Strawberry Red Velvet Mocha (yums!).

Expecting the coming week to speed up and gain a little crazy momentum once again. My Monday afternoon is going to be spent at a briefing, the class test that I’ve set needs some tweaking, need to kick start planning for SA2, lesson plans to create, CNY errands to run and not to mention the piles and piles of books that will start to pile up again *faints* I am looking and so not looking forward to the CNY holidays.

Thank you, God for the guidance the past weeks. Without your encouragement, I would have fizzled out. One of my colleagues asked why I am never tired, because every time she sees me, I am energetic and smiling. That’s not me. That’s you, God (: Thank you!

For the coming week, I pray for Your strength and Your power to guide me through, may it be grace and favour-filled. To show more of Your ways and words through my actions, words and thoughts. Amen!

Lord, thank You for caring about every part of me, including my emotions. Any emotional pains and wounds that I have, I bring to You. I know that You can heal and restore me. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

The silent plea, the whispered mention of His name, even the very thought of Him brings us solace and reassurance. “He’s as close as His name.” Jesus, thank You that You are near. I need You. Jesus never forgets or abandons His own. – ODB, 30 January 2016

…it doesn’t mean that I don’t get upset, but I can do something positive about it, I can control myself and be peaceful on purpose. Being peaceful on purpose is something we have to do for ourselves. Lord, thank You for providing me with Your peace. When the devil tries to steal my peace, reveals his plans to me. I won’t let him take my peace. Instead, I’ll remain rooted in You. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Surely, God puts people in our lives to give us help and comfort. But let’s also remember to pray. God will hear us. Dear Lord, help me to remember You are my deliverer, and You always hear my cry. Prayer is the bridge between panic and peace. – ODB, 28 January 2016

In my distress, I called to the Lord. – Psalm 18:6

I give thanks to you that I was marvelously set apart. Your works are wonderful – I know that very well. – Psalms 139:14

We all have different gifts and talents, different likes and dislikes, different goals in life and different motivations. A loving person respects and encourages the difference in others. God, help me to appreciate the differences in others and then love them accordingly. We are all fearfully and wonderfully made. Thank You for the amazing creation of each individual You have placed in my life. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Dear God, please help me to freely accept Your provision and the way You choose to deliver it. Thank You for caring for me and meeting my needs. Those who let God provide will always be satisfied. – ODB, 27 January 2016

Consider everyone as equal, and don’t think that you’re better than anyone else. Instead, associate with people who have no status. Don’t think that you’re so smart. – Romans 12:16

But anyone who needs wisdom should ask God, whose very nature is to give to everyone without a second thought, without keeping score. Wisdom will certainly be given to those who ask. – James 1:5

When we face unanswered questions, we find help and hope in God’s love. – ODB, 26 January 2016

There will come one day a personal and direct touch from God when every tear and perplexity, every oppression and distress, every suffering and pain, and wrong and injustice will have a complete and ample and overwhelming explanation. – Oswald Chambers

Whatever you do, do it from the heart for the Lord and not for the people. – Colossians 3:23

Don’t be afraid of failing that you never take a chance. Don’t stay in the safety zone. You may feel safe, but you will never succeed at developing your full potential or being filfilled in what you are doing. Step out into what you feel God is leading you to do, and you will soon discover what you can and cannot do. Lord, in everything I do, I want to serve You wholeheartedly. Thank You for encouraging me to step out and take action, developing the great potential You have given me. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Set a guard over my mouth, Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips. – Pslams 141:3

Father, please curb my careless speech and put a guard on my tongue today and every day. A word filthy spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver. (Proverbs 25:11) – ODB, 25 January 2016

God, help me to see myself through Your eyes, with the gifts and talents You’ve given me. I believe that You made me with great potential because You are a great God. Today, I put my confidence in You and believe that all things are possible with You! – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Lord, let me not forget to acknowledge You for all that You do for me and enable me to do. God’s children will do His will for His glory. – ODB, 24 January 2016

Lord, I look to You for security. I focus on the truth – You are my refuge and strength. You give me love and acceptance. In You alone I am completely confident. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Amen!

Leave a Reply

