Devotion 1/5/2016

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

Annndd….we’re in the fifth month of the year. Time really do fly by. Sigh. Long weekend! I am half-resting and half-worrying about school. Recess activities on Tuesday and Wednesday that I somehow pulled together in less than a week. From what I can see, I have left out 2 things that’s undone. But ah well. First event, bound not to be perfect. I’ll learn.

The past week has been…hectic. Marking Paper 1. Suspended time-table means more periods with the kids. Though I try to stick to the usual time-table as much as possible. The kids had plenty of rest time so as not to feel overwhelmed. The hot weather has brought about some more behavioral issues than usual. More day-dreaming, more restlessness, less 100%. Conking out every night. But nonetheless, thanks to God, I made it through (: Praying in the morning gives me strength (well, I am always half-sleeping and half-praying).

Coming week will be short but I am expecting more craziness. Tuesday – recording, event. Wednesday – event, mum’s appt. Thursday – catch up! Friday – P2 marking. Meh. Hopefully I won’t experience burnt out like I did last term. GO GO GO!

Lord, I ask for guidance and wisdom this coming week. Hold me up with your strong hands and teach me to do your will every day. Keep me in your care. Amen.

[God will] give relief to you who are troubled. – 2 Thessalonians 1:7

Dear God, please protect us and give us wisdom through Your Holy Spirit. Help us to be just and fair in everything we do so that we are good representatives for You. One day, God will right every wrong. – ODB, 24 April 2016

God, Your ways are better than mine and I know that trusting in my own strength will get me nowhere. I place my trust in You. Even when it doesn’t make sense to me, I choose to trust You, knowing You will make Your plans come to pass. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Lord, we cannot read about the failures and difficulties of others without being reminded of our own. We bring them all to You, seeking forgiveness and Your power for a fresh start. It’s not too late to make a fresh start with God.  – ODB, 25 April 2016

Love and faithfulness reconcile guilt; the fear of the Lord turns away evil. – Proverbs 16:6

God showed me that I had to discipline myself in order to simplify my life. It may be tough at first, but the order and restraint are worth the effort. [I learnt this the hard way last term]. Lord, I want to experience the peaceful fruit of a well-disciplined life. When I’m tempted to over-commit and stretch myself too far, help me to slow down and only do things You want me to do.  – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Everyone has to deal with inconveniences, but we can deal with them and avoid a bad attitude. God can always lead you past disappointing circumstances, strengthening you and helping you to hold on to your peace. God, only You are perfect. I am so glad that even when people and circumstances fail, You never do. Instead of putting my hope in things that will disappoint, I choose a life of peace that only comes from putting my hope in You. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

People plan their path, but the Lord secures their steps. – Proverbs 16:9

We sail into the uncertain future surrounded by the faithfulness of God! – ODB, 27 April 2016

The Lod is the Spirit, and where the Lord’s Spirit is, there is freedom. – 2 Corinthians 3:17

Lord, I make a right decision right now and live for You alone. Living by other people’s standards and expectations for me will get me nowhere. You are the only One who matters, and I will be the person You’ve made me to be. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

God, sometimes I don’t pursue what You’ve placed in my heart because of my worries and cares, so today, I give them to You. I know You can handle them, and You want me to be free to follow my heart. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Lord, please shape my thoughts and actions so people may sense that I have been with You. When we walk with God, people will notice. – ODB, 29 April 2016

Make the best decision that You can and trust God with the results. Holy Spirit, thank You for showing me that indecision doesn’t really get me anywhere. Help me to let my ‘yes’ be ‘yes’, and my ‘no’ be ‘no’. I know I can’t go wrong when I make decisions the best I can and simply trust You with the results. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

God is the one who enables you both to want and to actually live out his good purposes. – Philippians 2:13

God, I want to enjoy life, not constantly clean up problems that result from a lack of wisdom. Thank You for providing Your wisdom for me. I choose to receive it and make godly decisions for my future. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Lord, I want to experience the peaceful fruit of a well-disciplined life. When I’m tempted to over-commit and stretch myself too far, help me to slow down and only do things You want me to do.  – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Amen.

Leave a Reply

