Devotion 15/5/2016

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

Phew. The week’s over. Done the marking, done the keying in of marks (I hope. No more system error, please!)…The week felt super long. When Wednesday rolled around, I honestly thought it was already Thursday. Meh.

Managed to leave school at 2pm on Friday (thank you, God!) to head to town to run errands. Picked up my facial stuff, restocked my cleaning stuff, bought new shampoo and…Ben’s Cookies! OMG. Good stuff! Just don’t put them in the fridge. The good part is the gooey chocolate that’s mixed into the cookie. Yums!

Loads of house practice and sports event next week. I am so not athletic that I have no ‘PE attire’ to wear to school. I mean, I go for dance in shorts! Shorts that I wear out. But that’s not acceptable though. Meh. Will have to go in pants-rolled-up-as-3/4 then. And…WISH ME LUCK! I am so out-of-shape that it’s not even funny *fingers crossed*

Lord, this coming week, give me the strength, the courage and the energy that I need. Help me get through with positivity and let your light shine through me. Be with me this week, Lord. Guide me and lead me with your strong hands. Amen.

When we are in distress or disillusioned, we may feel abandoned bu society, family and friends, but God does not abandon us. It is a great encouragement that the Lord says, “I have engraved you on the palms of my hands” (v.16) to indicate how much He knows and protects us. Thank You, Lord that I won’t have to walk through any experience alone. – ODB, 8 May 2016

Encourage one another and build each other up. 1 Thessalonians 5:11

Lord, I know that I can trust in You when emotional trials come my way. With Jesus as my example, I say, “Not my will, but Yours be done.” You know what’s best for me and I trust You completely. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

God, please help me to remember Your Word when I am worried or fearful, when I need encouragement and inspiration. – ODB, 10 May 2016

God, I boldly come to You because Your Word says that I am forgiven and that I can always come to You. Thank You for Your forgiveness for my failures and Your grace that helps me in every time of need. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Thank You for this new day, Lord. Forgive me for doing those things in the past that I shouldn’t have done, and for doing those things that I should have done. Set my feet on Your right path today. Each new day gives us new reasons to praise the Lord. – ODB, 11 May 2016

Whenever I feel my foot slipping, your faithful love steadies me, Lord. When my anxieties multiply, your comforting calms me down. – Psalms 94:18-19

We cannot always prevent ourselves from having opinions, but the moment we think there’s something wrong with other people because they don’t share our personal preferences, we have a problem with judging others. Don’t let harmful judgement grow in you. Instead, realize that God made everyone different and it’s okay for people to think differently. And when necessary, tell yourself, “It’s none of my business.” God, I don’t want to judge or criticize others. When I encounter people who have different opinions and personal preferences than me, please help me to see them through Your eyes and remember that my opinions aren’t more important than theirs. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Don’t judge, so that you won’t be judged. – Matthew 7:1

Father, help me not to judge others today. Let me learn this until it changes me into someone more like You. – ODB, 12 May 2016

It’s important to understand that whenever we excel in any area, it is only because God has give us the gift of grace to do it. The moment we think we’ve accomplished great things in our own strength, we’re getting in to pride. Lord, only through You am I worth anything and able to accomplish anything. I release any pride that I may be holding onto, knowing that when I succeed and excel, it’s because of Your grace and goodness. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Holy Spirit, I want to sow good things and reap good things. Instead of acting selfishly towards others, help me to sow kindness and love in my relationships with all of the people in my life. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Lord, our circumstances can often threaten to overwhelm us. Today, help us to see You in all of life. We are learning to trust You as You do Your work. – ODB, 14 May 2016

Holy Spirit, instead of examining the lives of others, I want You to help me examine my own life. I know that with Your help, I can correct the issues I have and find the proper way to help others grow as well. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

God, please help me to remember Your Word when I am worried or fearful, when I need encouragement and inspiration. – ODB, 10 May 2016

Amen.

Leave a Reply

