Devotion 3/7/2016

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

And…the month has changed again! Can’t believe we are already at the second half of the year! Well, school has started for a week. I am going into the class more frequently than I should because I miss the little monsters! Relief-teaching has been pretty okay but it’s not the same. Other than missing my little monsters, I actually miss preparing for Doodle & Jot. Ideas are swimming in my head right now. Maybe I’ll jot them down, maybe I’ll not.

I was telling JY and Nurul on Friday about how I realised that I have bonded with my class. How my students now rely on me. Like how one of my kids actually waited for me to pop into class and asked him why he was scratching before he told anyone that he ate some peanuts (he has peanut allergy)! I almost panicked because I was worried that his airway is going to be blocked at any moment. Thank goodness for my co-form and that his allergy was nothing more than rashes *phew* Really glad that I walked into class that day (:

Next week is going to be a short week but I foresee loads of relief teaching happening. I am going to give the first of three farewell gifts to the class (: I hope they will be as excited as I was when I tried it ;p

Lord, thank you for guiding me through another week. Please continue to guide and hold me with Your hands. Cover me with your blessings and help me to do good every day. Amen!

Father, You love all Your children, but so often we fight and disagree. Help us to learn to interact with love and respect in all our relationships so the world will see the difference You make. Teach us to pray. Prayer is simply an honest conversation with God. – ODB, 26 June 2016

As long as we allow hatred, prejudice and division to continue to have a place in our lives, we’ll be powerless to stop it. Holy Spirit, help me to not waste my time worrying about gnats. I realize that I must defeat hatred and prejudice with Your love and be unified with others. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Little children, let’s not love with words or speech but with action and truth. – 1 John 3:18

It’s obvious that God doesn’t always stop tragedy, and we honestly don’t always know why bad things happen. We have to remember that faith will always require us to accept unanswered questions, and we must come to the place where we’re satisfied to know the One who knows and place our trust in Him. God, I may not always understand why bad things happen, but I know that You are good. When I don’t understand why, I will find my comfort in You. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Return the joy of your salvation to me and sustain me with a willing spirit. – Psalms 51:12

We need times of refreshment and recreation as well as work and accomplishment. You should be diligent in whatever task God has placed in front of you, but make sure that you find a balance by learning to reward yourself and enjoy life. God thinks you are worth it. God, I realize now that You want me to enjoy life and reward myself. Instead of feeling guilty and never stopping for a break, I choose today to experience the joy that You planned for me. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Father, help us to be a friend first before we offer advice to others. Thank You for the privilege if sharing our hearts with You in prayer. Thank You for sending us Your Holy Spirit so that we will never be alone. Before people hear what you say, they want to know that you care. – ODB, 1 July 2016

If you’re hurting from the pain of unforgiveness today, ask God to help you stop keeping score. You can let go of your bitterness today. God, I don’t want to keep score anymore and let my unforgiveness hurt me. I release it to You and ask You to help me walk in Your love, which keeps “no account of the evil done to it”. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

It (love) isn’t rude, it doesn’t seek its own advantages, it isn’t irritable, it doesn’t keep a record of complaints. – 1 Corinthians 13:5

Dear Lord, as I look around at those who share this life with me, help me to make time to spend with them – for encourage, for challenge, and perhaps just plain conversation. The best gift you can give to others may be your time. – ODB, 2 July 2016

Little children, let’s not love with words or speech but with action and truth. – 1 John 3:18

Amen.

Leave a Reply

