Devotion 17/7/2016

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

One more week till I start NIE. Seems like it was only yesterday when I started teaching. I’m going to miss my kids. They are stickier than usual (: And the P3s…Every time I walk into any of the class, they cheer. Seriously. Awesome. Haha.

After open house today, I bathed and crashed in my room. Been battling cold symptoms again. Damnit. Still battling it now. Need to sleep soon since I need to change my bedsheets tomorrow.

Last week in school. Woah.

Lord, thank you for bringing me through another week. This week was much kinder than the last. Thank you! Please let the coming week pass by peacefully, smoothly and restfully (: Guard my mouth such that I will only say words that build people and not hurt them. Help me to do good. Amen!

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it, we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. – James 3:9-10

Set a guard over my mouth, Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips. – Psalms 141:3

Lord Jesus, take control of my mouth today. Forgive me for careless, thoughtless, and angry words. Let my words bless You and others. May the words we speak point others to Jesus. – ODB, 10 July 2016

God, I choose today to give my finances to You. Even in hard times, I know that Your financial principles still apply and that You will take care of me. You are my source! Choose to be a giver today, and you not lack anything. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

God doesn’t always change our circumstance, but He will change us. – ODB, 11 July 2016

Rejoice always. Pray continually. Give thanks in every situation because this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Holy Spirit, I know I’m not built for guilt! Every time guilt tries to rise up in me, bring it to my attention and remind me that I am forgiven and made whole by the sacrifice of Jesus. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Lord, we cannot see the path ahead, so we must trust that the way is right and that it is the best road for us to take. Please encourage us, and teach us as we let You direct our path. God’s timing is always right – wait patiently for Him. – ODB, 12 July 2016

We may not understand the reason for the path we are on, but we can trust Him to help us grow in faith and maturity along the way. – ODB, 12 July 2016

…forgiveness is based on your decision – not a feeling. But there’s healing for you. God, it might be hard, but I know I need to pray for and bless those who have hurt me. I realize that forgiveness is a choice, so I ask you to help me as I choose to forgive. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Taking time to be with God is the best place to find strength. – ODB, 13 July 2016

Be tolerant with each other and, if someone has a complaint against anyone, forgive each other. As the Lord forgave you, so also forgive each other. – Colossians 3: 13

God, I want to find rest in You. Instead of constantly going and snapping under stress, show me how to follow Your pace for my life. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

When we face loss, we shouldn’t run from the sadness, but neither do we want to become bitter or hardened. Father God, You turned Jesus’s pain on the cross into our best gift ever. Deepen my faith that I may welcome Your life-changing love into my life. God can bring times of growth out of our times of heartache. – ODB, 14 July 2016

Lord, thank You for picking me up when I fall down. I know that my struggles mean that You are helping me overcome my negative mindsets and bringing me more and more in line with Your way of thinking. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Loving Father, teach me the heart of Christ, that I might more fully appreciate the sacrifice He has made for me and be willing to sacrifice myself for others. Nothing is really lost by a life of sacrifice. Henry Liddon – ODB, 15 July 2016

God, I want to keep Your river for living water flowing in me. Show me what the debris is that’s blocking the way and then show me how to clear it out. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

God, no matter how bad my messes get, I choose to praise You in my prison. I know that You will suddenly free me and come through in Your perfect timing. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Rejoice always. Pray continually. Give thanks in every situation because this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Amen.

Leave a Reply

