Devotion 31/7/2016

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

First week of school is finally over. Was it good? *shrugs* I remember when I joined teaching, I told myself that I will do my best to not stand out. Because I am tired of the politics that came along with being a vocal, efficient person. 하지만 학교에 입어서 그 약속을 잊었어. 파워스트라크 걸렸어. 진짜 미친해!

ANYWAYS! Everything that happened this week reminded me of who my friends are and it showed me once again that even when I am doubting myself, my friends are firmed in their trust and belief of who I am. Really thank you (:

My timetable looks unforgiving and it’s messy. Hopefully blur me won’t end up missing any lessons. Google Calendar, don’t fail me.  I’m still in ‘work’ mode and need to switch my ‘studying’ mode soon. Come on, Mugger Shan! You’re in there somewhere.

I miss my kids like crazy!

Lord, this coming week, fill me with your grace and your strength. Remind me that you are always with me. Guide and hold me in Your strong hands. Amen.

One wrong word can change the careers or destinies of people…The problem has increased in our modern world as a careless email or a posting on a social media site can cause great harm. It quickly goes viral and can’t always be retracted. King David tied respect for the Lord with the way we use our words. He said, “I will teach you the fear of the Lord…Keep your tongue from evil and your lips from telling lies.” (Psalm 34:11, 13). He resolved, “I will watch my ways and keep my tongue from sin; I will put a muzzle on my mouth.” (39:1). Lord, help us to do the same. Our words have the power to build up or tear down. – ODB, 24 July 2016

As time drags on and answers seem faraway, teach me, Father, to find my help in You and Your presence. Enable me to endure, and empower me to trust in You. When your burdens overwhelm you, remember that God has His arms underneath you. – ODB, 25 July 2016

Holy Spirit, I realise that sometimes I need brokeness. It may not be comfortable, but I invite You to break off and get rid of anything that’s keeping me from You. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

I hurt, Lord, but show me where I need to change, show me where she/he’s right. – ODB, 26 July 2016

Lord, this shaping process hurts, but I want to submit to the process. Mold me and smooth me. The Lord allows our rough edges to be smoothed over through the sandpaper of life. – ODB, 26 July 2016

We may be flawed by unfortunate experiences we’ve gone through, but that doesn’t mean we’re worthless and good-for-nothing. We must have the kind of love that says, “God loves me, so I can what God choose to love. I don’t love everything I do, but I accept myself because God accepts me.” We must develop the kind of mature love that says, “I believe God is changing me daily, but during this process, I will not reject what God accepts. I’ll accept myself as I am right now, knowing that I will not always remain the same.” God, like Isaiah 43:25, You blot out my sins and accept me, which means that I don’t have to reject myself. I am free to love myself in a healthy way because You love me! –  Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Dear Lord, many times my fear of being hurt keeps me from being honest about my struggles. Help me to remember how much You love me, and help me to be patient and loving with others. Being honest with our struggles allows us to help each other. – ODB, 27 July 2016

Lord, I am thankful that You have called me Your friend. May I ever be grateful for the privilege. What a friend we have in Jesus. – ODB, 28 July 2016

God, I want to endure like Jesus. Help me to get a vision for the joy of obtaining the prize that awaits me so that I can endure whatever trial comes my way. –  Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Father, thank You for the love You shower on us day by day. Teach us, in turn, to care for others. Open our eyes to see their needs and respond as You want us to. We show our love for God when we love one another. – ODB, 29 July 2016

Give me a faith that trusts You wholeheartedly, Lord. Our greatest comfort in sorrow is to know that God is in control. – ODB, 30 July 2016

God, I know that Your timing is perfect, even when I grow tired of waiting. Help me to trust in You and rest in Your plan for me. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Our Father who is in heaven, uphold the holiness of your name.
Bring in your kingdom so that your will  is done on earth as it’s done in heaven.
Give us the bread we need for today.
Forgive us for the ways we have wronged you, just as we also forgive those who have wronged us. And don’t lead us into temptation, but rescue us from the evil one. – Matthew 6:9-13

Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

