Devotion 28/8/2016

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

Gonna need to change the month again next week. And it’s Week 10 in school school too. Time really does zoom by!

My OCD was properly triggered last week. On Tuesday, my brain was processing so much stuff that I forgot if I had washed my hair, face and body many many times. I spent about an hour plus in the bathroom! And my mood control of my mood hasn’t been that great too. I realised I have two types of stress mode – school stress: can’t control mood, teaching stress: 90% ability to control. Man, can’t really wait to go back to the kids!

Ah well. First presentation coming up! Hopefully it will go well.

Lord, be with you as I continue my studies. Give me the strength, perseverance and grace to get through this. Let my light shine through even when things get tough. Guide me. I trust in you. Amen!

The Lord is my light and my salvation. Should I fear anyone? The Lord is a fortress protecting my life. Should I be frightened of anything? – Psalms 27:1

Lord, let me see the way of escape You offer when I am tempted. Give me the strength to accept Your help so I can stay faithful to You. I know this Your desire for me, and I thank You that You are at work in me. Great blessings are often followed by great temptations. – ODB, 22 August 2016

Destructive people produce conflict; gossips alienate close friends. – Proverbs 16:28

God, you are wonderful and amazing, which is why I can rejoice in You always. Depression has no place in my life because I am filled with you! –  Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Be glad in the Lord always! Again I say, be glad! – Philippians 4:4

Lord Jesus, I know my spirit is willing, but my body is weak. Help me to watch and pray today for myself and for others. – ODB, 24 August 2016

Don’t be too quick to get angry because anger lives in the fool’s heart. – Ecclesiastes 7:9

Pleasant words are flowing honey, sweet to the taste and healing to the bones. Proverbs 16:24

When disappointment weighs on you, you can either let it press you down or you can use it as a stepping stone to better things. God, like Psalm 119:15 says, I will meditate on Your Word, not the little disappointments that try to press me down. Life can be discouraging, but Your Word is encouraging, I know I can overcome the discouragement by looking to You. –  Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

I will think about your precepts and examine all your paths. – Psalm 119:15

Lord, when we are honest with You, we understand how often we fall short of honorable behavior. We know how much we need You. By your Spirit, help us replace any selfish thoughts, words and actions with things that please You and draw others to You. – ODB, 26 August 2016

But the Lord is faithful and will give you strength and protect you from the evil one. – 2 Thessalonians 3:3

Death and life are in the power of the tongue; those who love it will eat its fruit. – Proverbs 18:21

When disappointment weighs on you, you can either let it press you down or you can use it as a stepping stone to better things. God, like Psalm 119:15 says, I will meditate on Your Word, not the little disappointments that try to press me down. Life can be discouraging, but Your Word is encouraging, I know I can overcome the discouragement by looking to You. –  Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Amen.

Leave a Reply

