Devotion 04/9/2016

Sometimes, I find meaningful words/verses/phrases and I do a screenshot of them. But somehow, an idea struck me today and I thought, “Why not just do a weekly Sunday thing?” Just in case the phone dies and the screenshots disappeared *choy!*

Thanks to Uber’s $5 Uberpool deal, I was able to get home comfortably and quickly this week. Well, except Thursday (pouring and couldn’t get any) and Friday (GrabHitch’s $2 deal!). Going to have to get used to the long commute back home again this week *sigh* But I am allowing myself to take ONE ride home every week. Better utilize that wisely. Heh.

Well, September is going to be a mad mad month. Many assignments due. Assignment fever! But I guess, that will also mean a more relaxed rest of the term? No idea. One step at a time eh? GESL is stressing me out (that’s all I can will say). I honestly think I must learn to delegate.

Caught the cold today but managed to complete 2 module’s readings. Pretty surprised. Going to spend a bit more time resting up on Sunday, I hope. No idea what the coming week will bring. But definitely more madness.

Lord, I am tired and exhausted most of the time. Remind me to turn to you and cast my troubles/worries/concerns onto you at times like this. Give me the strength and grace to cope with everything. Teach me to hold my tongue and show Your love in my actions, words and thoughts. I trust in You. Amen.

Holy Spirit, show me who You’ve placed in my life that I can share my faults, weaknesses and hurts with. I want to open the door to greater healing in my life and in theirs. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Nothing is hidden that won’t be exposed. Nor is anything concealed that won’t be made known and brought to the light. – Luke 8:17

The temptation to press too hard, to demand too much, to force progress, or to orchestrate success can lead us to harm others when we don’t realize it. For this very reason, followers of Christ are urged to be patient and gentle with one another (Col 3:12). – ODB, 30 August 2016

The Bible says a good tree will bear good fruit, and a rotten tree will bear rotten fruit. Likewise, the ‘fruit’ of our lives come from the ‘root’ within us. If you’re rooted in shame, guilt, inferority, rejection, lack of love and acceptance etc, the fruit of your relationships will suffer. God, I want to be rooted in Your love for me. Without Your love, I can’t love myself or others, so I receive it today. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

Father, You are the craftsman who shapes me. You are the one who knows what shape my life should take. Thank You for carving me into the image You have planned. Help me to trust that the pieces and parts that You shave from me are the right ones. – ODB, 2 September 2016

Come to me, all you who are struggling hard and carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest. – Matthew 11:28

God, I can’t see ‘past my nose’, but I trust You because I know that You see all. I believe that You can take my trials and bring good out of them. – Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life

..in God, whose word I praise; I trust in God, I won’t be afraid. What can mere flesh do to me? – Psalms 56: 4

Come to me, all you who are struggling hard and carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest. – Matthew 11:28

Amen.

Leave a Reply

