Ya Kun Kaya Toast 아쿤

I’m not a caffeine addict. I can get through a day without caffeine.

But I’m a Teh-C/Teh addict. I think I like the condensed milk more than the tea. It’s not uncommon for me to tell ask for “ka-dai”. When I was temping at Citibank, the lady working at the Paragon’s Yakun can even remember my order (because no one ask for ka-dai) ;p

Since I landed in Korea 8 weeks ago and had to wake up early to go to school, I have been craving for my Teh-C/Teh. I tried drinking their latte but it’s not the same. I’ll be awake but it’s a grouchy-excited kind of awake. With my tea, I am everythingok-excited kind of awake.

ANYWAYS!

Been wanting to visit the Yakun Ya Kun here since forever~ But they are rather out of the place. The nearest is at City Hall but it’s not just nearby or along the way.

Ya Kun in Korea – What you need to know

Compared to Singapore, it’s ridiculously expensive. But given that it’s hard to find Singapore food here, I think it’s pretty okay. And when you are having teh-withdrawal, it’s totally worth it. I guess the higher price is because the kaya, the condensed milk and the kopi beans?

The choices for drinks are pretty limited. They have more of Americano, Lattes and the likes. There’s a Yakun Coffee (Kopi) and Yakun Tea (Teh). They are about KRW 3400 (SGD 4.20)  and KRW 3600 (SGD 4.50). The cold ones are slightly more expensive.

In terms of toast, the variety is almost the same as SG. There’s kaya, butter sugar, cheese, peanut butter and etc. But if you want cheese, peanut butter etc, you can have it at any other bakeries in Korea. Price for kaya toast and butter sugar toast is about KRW 3300 (SGD 4).  For the toast, they use exactly the same bread as SG ❤  The serving is smaller though. In SG, we get about 4 big pieces…but in Korea, it’s 2 big pieces cut into 4 bite-sized pieces. Personally I like the smaller serving and bite-sized pieces (neater to eat and more butter)! 😀

Soft boiled eggs are also available at KRW 700 (SGD 0.90). I am guessing it’s just one egg though.

There are sets too (: But if you want your set to come with kopi or teh, you need to order the set with Yakun Tea or Yakun Kopi explicitly stated. Otherwise, you get your toast with Americano/Latte. Weird. Prices as follows –

Egg Kaya Toast with Yakun Tea  – KRW 6800 (SGD 8.50)
Yakun Tea Toast Set – KRW 6200 (SGD 7.70)
Yakun Coffee Toast Set – KRW 6500 (SGD 8)

So far, I have only been to 2 outlets – LIG @ Hapjeong and Gangnam Station Branch (아쿤강남역점)

LIG Hapjeong store (Kaya Toast – Yes, Teh/Kopi – No)

Went with YiQi when she was here a few weeks ago. Was disappointed that –

– The branding wasn’t there. Can’t even find the trademark logo that we are so familiar with.
– Even though Yakun Tea and Yakun Coffee was on the menu, they are not available 😦
– Sitting area was way too tiny. More like a takeout counter catering to the office folks upstairs.

The only redeeming point was I had kaya toast after so long! And I was sick then so having familiar food was extra nice (:

NEXT!

Gangnam Station Branch 아쿤강남역점 (Kaya Toast – Yes, Teh/Kopi – YES!)

Was heading to the study cafe (more about it later) today and decided to pop by the Ya Kun there. There’s about 3 branches there – 1 near the station, 1 at the SK Building and 1 at Gangnam Financial Centre. I went to the one near the station.

To avoid disappointment, before I ordered anything, I asked if they had Ya Kun Tea. When the lady said yes, I must have brightened up cos the lady smiled too. I think from then on, she knew I was from Singapore 😀 She was extra nice!

finally after 8 weeks! (:

I was pretty down and tired but when I opened the cup and smelled it, I can feel my “energy” flowing back. I kid you not. Everything was brighter 😀 I was so emo-nemo before and the overcast sky didn’t help. But with Teh, everything is okay! I think the lady behind the counter saw me smelling my Teh and laughed. Haha!

Here’s the directions –

– Take the train to Gangnam Station (Line 2).
– Head for Exit 9.
– Walk straight, you will walk pass a bus stop: Gangnam Station, Gangnam Station Sageori (ID: 22-167)
– Just keep walking straight and in less than a minute, you will see the familiar Ya Kun sign smiling at you! 😀

unnamed

So yup. That’s it (: Now that I have my first taste of Teh again, I am craving for it again T_T Being here in Seoul has kinda turn me into an unwillingly coffee drinker. Teh, I will come for you again! (: Maybe I’ll try out the City Hall branch. 2 more weeks and I will be back in SG. How time flies….I haven’t even started playing. Sigh.

Leave a comment